John 8:1-11- To stone or not to stone this woman.


Good evening to you all!  I would love to thank the Lord for giving me the ability to write this passage, whether it be my intellectual, physical, or spiritual gifts.  I praise the Lord for allowing me to live today and allowing me to breath His precious oxygen.  For it’s not promised he would allow me to breath today, so I must thank Him and give Him the ultimate praise He deserves!

 

So I am doing John 8:1-11, the question is to you guys…This point of view is fascinating, because here’s a situation where Jesus does something the people can hardly believe.  I suppose that’s not unusual, but I believe this to be very odd and interesting.  

 

So first, read John 8:1-11, Jesus went to Mount Olives, but he was soon back in the Temple, again.  Swarms of people came to him.  He sat down and taught them.  The religion scholars and Pharisees led in a woman who had been caught in the act of adultery.  They stood her in sight of everyone and said, “Teacher, this woman was caught red-handed in the act of adultery.  Moses, in the Law, gives orders to stone such persons.  What do you say?” They were trying to trap him into saying something incriminating so they coudl bring charges against him.  Jesus bent down and wrote with his finger in the dirt.  They kept at him, badgering him.  He straightened up and said, “The sinless one among you, go first: Throw the stone.”  Bending down again, he wrote some ore in the dirt.  Hearing that, they walked away, one after another, beginning with the oldest.  This woman was left alone.  Jesus stood up and spoke to her.  “Woman, where are they?  Does no one condemn you?”  “No one, Master.” “Neither do I,” said Jesus.  “Go on your way.  From now, don’t sin.”

 

So here’s the point of the story, in my eyes at least.  You see, Jesus knows of His surroundings. He understands what everyone is saying and knows exactly what’s going on, so because of their bad intentions, He shows them a lesson.   So Jesus says, the sinless one may go ahead and throw the rock.  Of course, none were sinless, so they all slowly walked away.  Thus leaving the woman alone with Jesus.  Jesus let’s her go and gives her specific instructions not to do so any longer.  That is sin, adultery, or anything relating to this.  I find this to be a good passage, because God knows not only of your words, but your intentions.  Someone trying to put Jesus in a situation to incriminate himself wasn’t smart and Jesus showed them that it wasn’t.  I realize this isn’t a deep devotional topic, but I want you to realize how the Lord works.

 

Also, I’ll leave you with this…the next verse is: Jesus once again addressed them: “I am the world’s Light.  No one who follows me stumbles around in the darkness.  I provide plenty of light to live in.”

 

Is Jesus your light? Are you letting Him shine in your life? 

 

May God bless you. Continue to read. Continue to praise and worship the Lord.  God is so good! God bless, I love you all.

One thought on “John 8:1-11- To stone or not to stone this woman.

Leave a comment