Matthew 12:46-50, Jesus’ take on who his brothers and sisters really are.


Good evening to you all, I thank you for continuing to staying committed to viewing my blog.  I first would like to thank my good Lord and Savior Jesus Christ for saving me, I thank God for all the blessings He has presented me with today.  God has given me so much today and I’m pleased to say that I’ve done what I can to glorify His amazing name.  I love you Lord. I pray to you for all people, I pray that we all grow in our relationship with you because in reality, there’s nothing more important then our relationship with you. 

 

So I have to admit, Matthew is my favorite book in the Bible, I don’t really know why other than the fact I really enjoy what happens in the book.  I’m not saying I don’t like the other books, I’m just saying it always feels like I turn to Matthew and the answer to my situation is ALWAYS there, it’s truly incredible.  Maybe certain books speak to certain people, I really don’t know that’s just my subjective point of view!

 

I praise God for allowing me to be literate and give me to tools to digest what the Bible really has to offer! 

 

Matthew 12:46-50: While he was still talking to the crowd, his mother and brothers showed up.  They were outside trying to get a message to him.  Someone told Jesus, “Your mother and brothers are out here, wanting to speak with you.” Jesus didn’t respond directly, but said, “Who do you think my mother and brothers are?”  he then stretched out his hand toward his disciples, “Look closely.  These are my mother and brothers.  Obedience is thicker than blood. The person who obeys my heavenly Father’s will is my brother and sister and mother.”

 

My word that’s a deep passage.  So let’s digest the passage.

 

 First, someone calls out to Jesus telling him that his “biological” relatives are awaiting him and needing to tell him something.  Or to get a message across to him.  So that makes sense, right?

 Maybe it’s some sort of emergency, maybe they just need to tell him something, or the most probable reason, God had already known this situation was going to arise and could use it as a teaching point to us forever in the Bible.  You see, God knows everything that’s going to happen…

 

He knows everything, so God knew that they would come calling unto Jesus while he was speaking to the crowd; however, Jesus’ response is crucial to us as Christians…Did Jesus just say okay, what do y’all need? Or did he say, “What’s up? Do you need me?”.

 

No, Jesus is far too wise, Jesus uses this as a teaching point to his audience and to eventually be a teaching point for me and you at this very moment.  God is so smart, such that He knows that I was going to write this blog on this passage, and He knew that you were going to read it…There’s a reason why you clicked on my blog today and it’s probably for this reason.

 

Jesus doesn’t look to them at all, matter of fact He didn’t even respond directly; however, Jesus did ask who did the crowd think His brothers and mother were?  Then like it said, He reached his hand out towards His disciples and explained how the obedience to His father was the only way to be a relative of Jesus.  Perhaps, biologically those may have been relatives, but the scripture is so much deeper than that, It’s SO much deeper.  Matter of fact, “obedience is thicker than blood”, is an extremely strong statement.  An extremely powerful statement!  

 

Lastly, the passage says, “The person who obeys my heavenly Father’s will is my brother and sister and mother.”  

Jesus makes it extremely clear whom He calls his relatives.  That’s touching, strong, and extremely truthful. God’s word is so real and incredible.  It’s so amazing the impact that a few verses can have.  Please read the before and after for greater context, thus you can gain an even stronger understanding.

 

I’m not sure who you are or how you feel, but I would rather die one day knowing that I’m a brother of the only man to live the perfect life.  I want to be the brother of the son of God.  I want to be able to call upon my brother in times of help, anguish, catastrophe, successes, direction, guidance, and any other situation that I could use His help.  I want to be on God’s side not just yesterday, today, tomorrow, and the next day, but forever.  I want to be someone that God sees the most out of me.  

 

I want to submit myself before the Lord knowing that I gave it my all for His will.  That’s what I want. One day I want to be able to call unto the Lord and praise His holy name in everything that I do.  I’ve handed my life over to Him.  I hope that you can find it in your heart to do the same, my Word it’s so worth it.  

 

I pray that my fire remains lit for God. I pray that yours gets lit. I pray that you use your tools and abilities to bring people to the Lord.  I would love to see you all in Heaven one day. God bless you all! I love you all!

Leave a Reply

