Temptations getting the best of you?


I woke up this morning via alarm at 7:00 am.  I accomplished my goal I set yesterday to wake up in time to do everything I need to do in the morning so I can have a full blown devotional this morning.  I achieved that goal and after thinking last night about my Matthew 4:4 post, I believe that I should just continue with Matthew 4:5-11.

 

Matthew 4: 5-11, “Then the devil taketh him up into the holy city, and setteth him on a pinnacle of the temple. And saith unto him, if thou be the Son of God, cast thyself down: for it is written, He shall give his angels charge concerning thee: and in their hands they shall bear thee up, last at any time thou dash thy foot against a stone.  Jesus said unto him, It is written again, Thou shalt not tempt the Lord thy God. Again, the devil taketh him up into an exceeding high mountain, and sheweth him all the kingdoms of the world, and the glory of them; and saith unto him, All these things will I give thee, if thou wilt fall down and worship me.  Then saith Jesus unto him, Get thee hence, Satan: for it is written, Thou shalt worship the Lord thy God, and him only shall thou serve. Then the devil leaveth him, and, behold, angels came and ministered unto him. 

 

I’m not sure how you guys read that passage and what your first reaction is, but my goodness, I feel inspired, to think that God stood before Satan with the possibility of Satan giving Jesus all the glory for everything the world has too offer, yet he denied Satan for the scripture said so.  That’s so powerful, I wish every time we faced Satan, we could simply recite what scripture says and stand up for God.  Even down to the very words of what Jesus said really fascinates me, look back at verse 4 of Matthew 4: “But he answered and said, it is written, Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God”. Then look at 7, “Jesus said unto him, it is written again, Thou shalt not tempt the Lord thy God.  Again at 10. “Then saith Jesus unto him, Get thee hence, Satan: for it is written, Thou shalt only worship the Lord thy God, and him only shalt thou serve.” 

 

This passage really illustrates what most of us truly have a problem with.  Jesus faced temptation not once, not twice, but three times within 7 verses of scripture.  As humans, we have a tendency to finally give in if someone asks a request of us after 2 or 3 times, and that’s our weakness.  We crumble under pressure, but keep this passage with you as you go about your day and get into a dicey situation.  Remember, if Jesus can deny Him over and over again, so can I.  By denying Satan, we are only being obedient to the Lord, so that’s what we’re supposed to do anyways.  

 

When you’re facing a temptation, simply quote Jesus here, the Devil will go away just as he did with Jesus in this passage…You may have to deny him 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, or more times, but simply follow Jesus’ actions and you will be in the clear and should have no worries.  

 

This passage is so inspirational, I hope that you guys can take a lot of out of it. This passage is EXACTLY what I needed before I go about my day and I’m sure you could use it as well. I’m learning so much in such a short amount of time.  I thank you guys for taking time out of your day to see what God is doing in my life and maybe how He can help yours also.  I am proud and blessed by God that He has fulfilled me with this opportunity to write and document my story.  I pray that it helps one of you go through your day.  

 

Please come back and read my future posts, I do plan on doing this for a long time, because it’s leaving a lasting impact on my life that I will never forget.  I pray you all have an amazing day. I love you all. 

 

I’ll leave you with this note, Matthew 5:6, “Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled”.  I am experiencing first hand this very verse.  I am so hungry for the Lord, words can’t put an adjective to describe it.  I am so thirsty for God.  I truly want to learn and be consumed completely in God.  Please, if He ever knocks at your heart, let Him in…if you get that fire, hunger or thirst, you will never want to stop learning.  I can’t wait to come back and write to you all, Lord willing. 

Leave a Reply

